Registering Your Vehicle in Arizona

Here at South Jersey Auto Tags we help auto dealers in Arizona quickly get the registrations, tags, and titles they need in a timely manner to ensure that the sales process goes off without a hitch. We invite you to contact us or fill out our online quote form for fast service.

For Fast Service:

Mandatory Documentation with all transactions

  • Power of Attorney from the Customer to the dealership (if purchased from a dealership)
  • A valid Arizona Driver’s License for buyer and co-buyer
  • Proof of valid Arizona Insurance
  • South Jersey Auto Tags Power of Attorney

Cars/Trucks/SUV’s/Mobile Homes/RV’s/Motorhomes/Modulars/Trailers

  • Title and Registration Application (Form 96-0236)
  • Completed Title/An out-of-state title (or registration, if title is held by lienholder)
  • Bill of sale with itemized sales tax information.
    • A dealer’s affidavit, if the dealership is in another state.
    • A VIN/Ownership documentation inspection.
    • Dealer reassignment (if applicable)
  • Lien Release (if applicable) – if there is still an active lien on the vehicle a written and notarized letter from the lien holder will be required to make any changes to a title.
  • Emissions compliance form (Phoenix & Tucson areas only)
  • A Level I vehicle inspection (if out-of-state title and/or registration is missing)
  • Power of Attorney from the lessor (if leased vehicle)
  • Odometer disclosure at the time of transfer
  • Any license plates you may wish to transfer to the new vehicle.

Utility Trailer Registration

  • Previous owner’s title (correctly endorsed and/or notarized on the back)
  • If a lien was recorded on the title, a lien clearance or release will be needed. The lien release is sometimes completed and notarized on the front of the title, and sometimes is provided to the seller as a separate document.
  • Bill of Sale, and have it notarized
  • Title and Registration Application (Form 96-0236)


  • Application for Arizona Watercraft Certificate of Number (Form 1532)
  • Watercraft Bill of Sale (Form 678)


  • Certificate of title
  • Bill of Sale
  • Off-Highway Decal Application (Form 96-0572)

Golf Carts/Low Speed Vehicle’s (LSV)

  • Manufacturer’s Certificate
  • Title and Registration Application (Form 96-0236)

Learn More

  •  Arizona law requires that you apply for a title within 15 days of purchase.
  • Vehicles model year 2011 and newer—odometer disclosure is required for 20 years.
  • Vehicles model year 2010 and older—exempt from odometer disclosure.
  • Emissions are required for any and all vehicles that are over (4) years old and must be completed in the state of Arizona
  •  A signed and notarized vehicle title is needed.  If you are moving from out-of-state, your out-of-state title and registration must be surrendered at the time of application for Arizona title and registration. When a loan has been recorded against the vehicle and the title is being held by a lender in another state, the registration is needed, although the title may not be required.  
  •  A lien release is needed before the vehicle title can be transferred to another person. If there is a lien on the vehicle that has not been paid off, written permission from the lienholder/lender will be required to add or delete a name. 
  •  Trailer owners are issued a PERM license plate tag for trailers that qualify for a permanent registration. Permanent registrations require only a one time registration fee and are issued to noncommercial trailers with a declared gross vehicle weight (GVW) of less than 10,000 pounds 
  • Permanent registrations are also given for trailers with a GVW over 10,000 pounds
  • Travel trailers, campers/tent trailers, commercial trailers less than 10,000 pounds GVW, and historic trailers designed for commercial use that are out of commission are ineligible for permanent registrations.
  • Commercial trailers that weigh less than 10,000 pounds can be registered for one, two, or five years. Registration fees and vehicle license taxes are determined based on the duration of the registration of the owner’s choice. 
  • Commercial trailers that weigh over 10,000 pounds will be subject to the annual registration based on duration and weight fees as determined by the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division.